Shifting – original poem


SHIFTING

The winds of change are sweeping unceasingly upon us.

Never guessing where the next shift will be, we are on guard.

Always with eyes in front and behind, we fidget with suspicion.

Relief coming in fitful bouts of sleep or distraction.

This pace is a frenzy that we are unable to sustain.

Collective discomfort is showing its wear and strain.

So, in contrast, I breathe.

In and out with a rhythm dictated by my attention.

With each movement of air a little more tension dissolves.

In open surrender I flow within this state of change.

Worry is useless and guessing ineffective.

Energy is restored with each mindful choice to let go.

All things fall in place once they are surrendered.

What will be shall manifest itself in due and rightful timing.

I am afloat in my conscious state of releasing.

And peace begins to restore itself around me.

My mind may wander but my spirit is at rest once more.

Shifting through change, from chaos to calm.

~ Barbara Bernard Miller

7 thoughts on “Shifting – original poem

  1. Pingback: Breath of Life | Mighty Inspiration

  2. The magical workings of the Air realm. breathe in … breathe out. Clearing the mind and calming worry and anticipation. breathe in … breathe out. “And peace begins to restore itself around me.
    My mind may wander but my spirit is at rest once more. Shifting through change, from chaos to calm.” Love, Love, Loving YOU

    • Awww – I love you too! Can you tell this is a year of inspired action for me. And sometimes the “action” is to sit and breathe in the calm. Looking forward to seeing you in WW&B gathering. Hugs!

  3. Oh my Barb, this is an amazing poem. As I was drifting through the reading of it…yes it gave me the sense of being lifted up and drifting softly through a quiet state of peacefulness. It was like being in a state of meditation. Wonderful. Thank you.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

