A Way Out


There’s a Bible verse that I’ve heard my entire life that has had me thinking more and more lately:

“No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

Even though I’ve heard it and read it many times, I’ve been narrowly focused on the part about only getting what I can bear. But that narrow focus has not really let the FULL message sink in. The part I’ve been “missing” and recently been meditating on is that God will give me a way out. It doesn’t say I won’t be tempted. It doesn’t say I’ll get an extra dose of will power to withstand the temptation. It doesn’t say I should dance on the line between temptation and surrender and I’ll be protected. It says I’ll have a way out of it.

How many times have I been in a situation, knowing it was temptation, and hearing a small voice inside, ignored it. As I think about those … they were always the way out. God was showing me the way and because I didn’t have my eyes upon him, but did have my eyes/heart/energy/focus on the temptation, I didn’t see or hear my way out. Sadly and regretfully, I succumbed to the temptation. I’ve always known my intuition was powerful – everyone’s is. And now this is yet another example of when not listening to my intuition, Spirit, conscience (or whatever you call it) got me into trouble.

Wonder if I’ve really learned my lesson yet. OY! And this leads me to wonder what temptation is drawing near that I am being guided to think and write about this verse? Will I remember it when I need it? I pray to God I do!

Take your way out and be blessed!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.