Farewell to a Friend – Andy Griffith


Today the world says good-bye to an icon of my generation. I remember watching Andy Griffith, the widowed sheriff as he raised his young son Opey among friends in The Andy Griffith Show. He was a role model of patience with the wacky residence of his little town. I loved the slow-paced sleepy NC town that was portrayed. There wasn’t a stranger amongst them and Andy was the level-headed leader. He was a great role model.

And as he got older I also enjoyed his portrayal of Matlock, the cranky older lawyer who never lost a case. In spite of his curmudgeonly moods, you could still see the gentle, kind spirit of the man behind the character.

And he was a champion for the community he lived in. On one of my vacations I remember doing some sightseeing in NC and heard so much about all that he did for this home town and the surrounding areas. As a matter of fact, I don’t recall ever hearing a bad word about him. He was a loyal husband and friend to those he came in contact with. He was an actor, a singer, a role mode, strong and faithful Christian, and friend (if only in my active TV-based imagination).

Farewell Andy – you left a good and positive mark on my generation and the people who actually knew you. I hope you have a grand time on the other side hanging out with Barney, Gomer, Goober and the gang just whistling a tune or two.

Be blessed!


5 thoughts on “Farewell to a Friend – Andy Griffith

      • Well I am sure he has been on some station, but I only have Limited Basic cable so I don’t get all those other stations! But recently the Andy Griffith show has been showing two nights a week on one of the local stations which I get as part of Limited Basic.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

