I have witnessed a coup!


The World Choir Games have come to the U.S. for the first time in their history. And lucky for us, they came to Cincinnati. What a cultural coup!! Cincinnati is already a wonderful city from an arts and culture standpoint. The influx of international musical talent has taken it to another level. Affectionately now known as the “City that Sings”, we have been fortunate to host over 200 events, with 23 categories. Choirs ranged from very young to seniors and came to our fair town from all corners of the globe.

I was fortunate to attend 2 of the events – the first was one of the free Friendship concerts where I got to see the talents from my alma mater, McAuley High School and my son’s alma mater, LaSalle High School. That was a fun way to support the local talent and get a “dip” into the World Choir Games festivities. Congratulations for winning the Silver in your category McAuley & LaSalle!

Today I was thrilled to see the Champion’s Concert featuring this week’s winners.  I enjoyed the humor of our MC, Drew Lachey, former singer in the boy band 98 Degrees, and winner of season 2 of Dancing with the Stars. Drew and his brother Nick, who is one of the Masters of Ceremonies for the entire event, are local singing talent that add a modern musical touch to our city. And the performances we saw today – all I can say is WOW!!!! It was so apparent why each of these groups was judged to be the best of their category. I was brought to tears a couple of times as the groups laid their talents and their voices on the stage for the sold-out crowd to appreciate. I was honored to see all of these performers of the 2012 World Choir Games! The ending was especially grand with the Kearsney College Choir of South Africa who won the Folk category. The power, passion, dance, and voices made a spectacular end to the day. STUNNING!

Only the closing ceremonies are left and I wish I could be there to see it.

Yes, indeed, the World Choir Games was a positive coup that allowed us to build bridges between cultures and create a positive musical atmosphere for all who participated.

Sing a song, make a joyful noise, and be blessed!

4 thoughts on “I have witnessed a coup!

  1. I L-O-V-E listening to choirs. I’ve attented many performances and cannot say anything negative about any of them. MALE choirs, however, absolutely destroy me. Depending on the subject matter, I’m a puddle in no time.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

