Keeping it real!


It never ceases to amaze me how thoroughly my human imperfections can raise their head to humble me. Even with my complete understanding of the situation, my best efforts, and deliberate focused energy,  errors can (and do) creep in. Today, my humanness is highlighted by yet another simple mathematical error. Well more like validation from one chart to another. I can count (most days anyway). Apparently my struggle comes from comparing a written paper to a huge and complex computer screen representation. How could I possibly miss a simple thing like that! Yowza!

And yet, with my speedy confession and appropriate remorse  when admitting my error, I find the graciousness of others as well. No judgement, no laughing (well, not to my face anyway). But genuine collaboration to make sure the error gets fixed in all the cascading documents as well. And for that … I am grateful.

So today I remember to keep my head held high, but at an appropriately humble angle. Remember – count it a 4th time, just in case. Admit the mistake early and spend energy in fixing it not fretting about it. And, next time I find an error of someone else’s data, remember today and be gracious.

Keeping it real folks. Be blessed!

3 thoughts on “Keeping it real!

  1. This is a great post Barb. I have always been my worst enemy when it comes to me making mistakes, or maybe taking longer to do something than someone else because I want to make sure it is done right. I am blessed with the job I have because it encompasses much of the characteristics I prefer in a company. One of the big things I was told when I started was that no one there gets upset when someone makes a mistake. And they were right. They are very helpful as I still have much to learn.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

