Joyful Yes


This week I had a gentle reminder of something that’s been on my “bucket list” for a very long time. It’s a small thing really, but a desire that was planted in the wee early days of my career. The “what” is not important. What is important is that, with the courage to speak a desire, even one that seems frivolous or unimportant to others, I find power in my voice. And the resulting “yes” strengthens my resolve to continue to create the life I want.

It sometimes surprises me to remember, or is it realize, that I really do have the power to get the things I want. The obstacles are rarely real. Whether it be the fear to ask. The shyness of being judged. The assumption that our desires are not important enough. Or that others hold the key to achieving our goal. How many times does this lesson come around? And the answer is still the same – SPEAK into possibility the thing you want, and BELIEVE it into existence by ACTION. Well, that and persistence, sometimes.

I know from speaking to many wiser and more experienced people that it is the little commitments to ourselves that we  keep which fuel our spirit. And in my own wisdom, which has been hard-won, I know that happiness is situational but joy is an enduring mindset. If I have to choose one – I choose joy. Because joy is not about the emotion in the moment but about an attitude of appreciation along the journey.

I wish for you a joyful “yes” for something on your bucket list. Go for it and be blessed!

5 thoughts on “Joyful Yes

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

