You’re gonna put your eye out!


Wow, I think that humongous full moon is making me all wonky this week! Have you seen it? It’s huge and luminous and gorgeous. Makes me think I’ll put my eye out with its sheer presence. It’s also swinging my emotions from left to right and giving me whiplash on the way.

Particularly I’ve noticed how sentimental I am these days. I find myself drawn to movies of times gone by and feeling nostalgic for decades before I was born.  I long for the days when time was slower and we connected with people in order to while away the hours instead of grabbing the first electronic device that’s handy. Yes, that means Little House on the Prairie is on my mind. Maybe even a bit of Anne of Green Gables too. Sappy I know!

But have you stopped and gotten sentimental lately? The stroll down memory lane, while marked with a stray tear, is mostly a soulful and joyful one. Here’s the stops on my sentimental journey this week:

* I dug up the bears that I had made with the small recorder in its paw to capture the voices of my children when they were about 10 and 12. To hear my deep-voiced son’s sweet “I love you mom” from before his voice changed stopped me in my tracks. He laughed and I cried. Yep, got a hug out of him too.

* I saw some current holiday pictures from my cousin and just had to call my aunt to tell her I love her. She’s a sweet presence in my life that was missing for many years after being adopted and trying to find my way. Glad she’s back and I’m blessed to have her. Needless to say she’s a wealth of information and just hearing her talk about my heritage, the things I don’t know or can’t remember makes me wide-eyed with curiosity. Maybe I’ll dig out that Ancestry.com family tree again.

* I ran across a picture from my early career days. It was a group shot from a dept. picnic. First let me say – I miss that young body and undyed hair! And after I got finished chuckling about the changes I’ve weathered physically (including the big framed glasses and 80’s hair), I lingered on the faces of so many colleagues from days gone by. It hit me that these people who I had seen day in and day out for several years, whose stories and family and work woes I knew so well were so very far, far away. I don’t know where most of them are, but I looked at that picture with fondness and melancholy. Hello old friends – I wish you well!

* I was in a discussion about the company I work for with some long-time friends. We laughed about the days when the “business lunch” was really a few cocktails at lunch and no-one was fired. We were secretaries instead of administrative assistants. We knew how to type with carbon paper and no-one knew what email was. Why the heck would we want to talk to someone on the computer when we could just walk down the hall anyway?

* A friend I haven’t talked to since high school suddenly popped up to chat on Facebook. It was fun to catch up but seriously, I’m realizing I have forgotten half the details of my youth. Just goes to show you that we only remember moments in time and luckily we can fill each other in on the ones we’ve forgotten. That was fun.

Yes, friends,my sentimental journey is in full swing. Join me will you? Next stop coming up soon. Oh yeah, and wear your glasses so you don’t put out your eye with that moon!

One thought on “You’re gonna put your eye out!

  1. You know how I do love me some full moon energy (well really any moon energy to tell the truth) and the Cancer Full Moon in Capricorn sun is such a perfect supporter for enjoying and celebrating and expanding connections (past and present) with family and close friends … nurturing and loving. Your blog brought laughter and tears as I connected to my parallel experiences over the past few days. Tonight, sunglasses for sure!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

