A really, really good day!


Today is a good day – a really, really good day in the wild world of Barb.

As an HR manager for a huge corporation I can’t always say that this is true. We get to help dig people out of crisis of all sorts – from strategic and staffing dilemmas, to employee issues with plans, policies, and benefits to performance and personnel issues where we investigate and deal with misbehaving rascals. Yep, even the best of companies mirror the rest of society. But today was different.

One thing I love about my company is that in addition to our “day job” we are encouraged to follow our passions in pursuit of creating a better company culture and business success. We value diversity of all sorts and we strive to bring that value to life inside our company. In that vein I’m honored that today I got to launch a project that is so in line with my passion. I’ve been working for 1 1/2 years to bring to fruition a project pilot working with students with disabilities.  We are finally able to hit  GO on this project and have a couple of students come into the work place. We will start small and build awareness and success until we can bloom and spread this effort to other areas of the company.

The reaction of the organization when we launched the pilot program today was so heartwarming. To see the enthusiasm for the idea and the support and excitement for the students to come was frankly touching. I’ve had more people share their pride for our company and appreciation for our team’s effort than I dared to imagine. And I’m humbled because for me this does not need praise.  This is about joining hands and doing something really right with great love and compassion. This is about community, spirit, and valuing for all. This is what it means to be truly human.

So today I will get to go home with a big smile on my face and with a warmth in my heart that in my little corner of the world I am able to influence leaders and create opportunities for kids who have great hope, big dreams, and many, many abilities.

I think I’ll celebrate with a hug for my kids and indulge myself with a sentimental tear or two.

Yes, today is a really, really good day!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

