Touch a soul


Inspiration is a funny thing.

At work I’ve been talking with a colleague about ways we can help people connect their work plans with the organization’s purpose statement in more meaningful and inspiring ways. While that’s important in the workplace, it leads me to the bigger questions about motivation and inspiration. What is inspiration, really? It’s such a vague and personal thing, this inspiration. For some people it’s easy – all about dollars and cents. But for most people, inspiration is so much bigger. It carries a life of its own and often leads to action and creation, not because someone is compelled by a job or external expectations, but rather they are called and pulled and almost magically motivated because they are inspired.

For me, there are so many images and songs and events that motivate me to think or have emotions. But there are limited numbers of things that inspire me and then compel me to act. I’m inspired by:

> The desire to see my children and family happy. That’s a very motherly thing to say and “aren’t we all” comes to mind.

> The desire to touch another person’s life in a practical way. That’s what drives me to volunteer in the community to help children, elderly, or disabled people.  This makes my faith real in the physical world and it feels like I’m giving back. Considering how much people helped me, particularly when I was a child in the orphanage, this is inspiration becoming action for me. I can’t even the scale but this helps me get closer.

> But the biggest, is my desire to touch another life at the soul level. This is something I think about all the time. It’s not a fleeting fantasy. It’s not a lofty dream. This is real. This makes me breathe air in and out each day. This is why I do the work I do in HR – craving the ability to touch a life. This is why I meditate on my life’s purpose. This is why I write about God and inspiration. I want to shine the light so strongly that others see their own gifts and possibilities. If I touch a soul, my life has been relevant. That’s what really inspires me.

I’d love to know – what are your inspirations? And what are your gifts?

Be blessed!

 

2 thoughts on “Touch a soul

  1. Thanks for the kind words Lynette! The business realities are getting tougher and I believe that makes it more important for people to be inspired by the results of their work (the big picture) vs. just focusing on the challenges of the day-to-day crunch (short term demands). We do a good job but hoping to do even better.

  2. I was thinking about this yesterday as I honed my goal setting for the next few months. I work with and have many friends who as corporate focus has been more and more on the bottom line (money, and don’t get me wrong, I’m not against making money) they have become less and less inspired and more and more tired. I remember not so long ago when companies aspired to serve and to make lives better. They may still hold those missions — but the day to day focus … less and less inspiring. Good luck with working the work plans!! Those you are assisting are so lucky to have you in their corner!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

