Valentine Revelation


“Love is the condition in which the happiness of another person is essential to your own.”

~ Robert Heinlein

Today is Valentine’s Day, as everyone with any proximity to Hallmark knows. It is full of hearts, flowers, candies, and sentiments of love. I think we forget that the original Valentine was not a message to a romantic lover at all, but rather a message of love to those who were praying for the imprisoned St. Valentine.

Today I woke up not knowing how I should feel about this Valentine’s day. Had I remained married, this would have been my 25th anniversary. And yet, I feel no sadness about that, just acknowledgement. And the loves of my life, my children, are both out-of-town today. I love you Tony & Maria! But I do not feel lonely because of that either. I am not feeling the “down” emotions that I thought I might today. I woke feeling loved.

I had purchased some packets of yummy Ghirardelli chocolates so that I would have a sweet treat today. On my drive into work I stopped to pick up breakfast. As I was sitting in my car waiting to pull up to the drive through window to pay, I got inspired to share a chocolate with the ladies in the window. Wow – what a huge smile they both had when I handed them the cherished bit of chocolate and wished them a happy day. In that moment I realized that all the love I need on Valentine’s day is the love I spread around. With that, my mission for the day was clear – I would be the person who greeted everyone I see with a Happy Valentine’s Day smile and a chocolate. My heart is renewed and I have already seen the spark come back into the eyes of those I’ve met today. I don’t know if they are alone and I’m the only one who will give a love filled greeting to them. I don’t know if they are missing a loved one who has passed or gone far away. I just know that my encounter with them was a brief but genuine greeting of love.

So for today, everyone I see is my Valentine! To those who read this message – Happy Valentine’s Day to you! May you spread the love and be blessed!

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son,

that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

One thought on “Valentine Revelation

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

