Healing Hands


Today falls into the category of one of my favorite days. Actually this particular “brand” of favorite is one that you can have as well.  What makes it special is the gift of massage.

I’ve had some of the most profound healing at the hands of a medical massage therapist. Part of that was physical with the release of tension and sore muscles. The other part was emotional/ mental/ spiritual. How’s that you ask? Well I combine the physical practice with my meditation or prayer practice. The combination creates a session that intermingles the relaxation and healing intentions of the therapist with my own inner intention of healing on many levels. The effect is quite profound really.

I used to say that when I am rich and famous I would get a massage every month. That seemed like such a lofty goal. But I realized a few years ago that it really isn’t so extravagant in pricing as to preclude me from having my rich and famous treat right now. Yep, I’ll trade in a new pair of shoes, or purse, or other “luxury” to pamper myself in this way. And the beauty of this realization is that it has opened up many opportunities that in the past I would have looked past.

One of them is my daughter’s friend, Amanda, who is now studying to be a massage therapist. Did you know that students have to do so many hours of massage (and at a very cut-rate price) in order to graduate? They’ve had many hours of practice in class so this isn’t a torturous experience. They are nearly ready to go out on their own and have experience before they ever touch a client. Add into that the “no tipping” policy for students, and this luxury is not really priced like one.  So I go whenever I can schedule an appointment. This is my hidden treasure and I’m glad that I found it.

I urge you to surrender to some healing hands, and be blessed!

One thought on “Healing Hands

  1. Massages are a real blessing. When I lived in Ireland I went to an amazing massage therapist. You could tell by his touch how much he cared about the human body, mind, and spirit. It is worth the money and in the end will save on medical expenses by helping the whole self to be so very relaxed and peaceful. I got so nothing bothered me and felt like I was walking on clouds 🙂

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

