My Sincerest Sadie Hawkins Leap Year Proposal


Happy Leap Year Day everybody!

I grew up hearing a bunch of the fun stories of Leap Year Day. You know the ones about Sadie Hawkins and women having the right to ask a man to dance with her, or the ultimate – to marry her. This was a rare and extraordinary day. There were even laws and consequences for the man if he turned her down back in the middle ages. While that’s cute, it’s clearly an outdated tradition.

What I like about it though is that it was, at the heart of it all, about the freedom to create new possibilities. Or said another way, people felt like they were able to break out of the ordinary boundaries without reprisal.

We no longer need an every-four- years kind of day to propose. However, there might still be a need for some of that unabashed freedom. We might take advantage of this unique day as an opportunity to break out of our modern-day boundaries. We are creatures of habit after all. And, despite how far we’ve come socially and culturally, we sometimes find it difficult to do the out of the ordinary because of what people may think or say about us.

This year I’ve decided that I will use Sadie Hawkins Day to play a game of “What If?” What if I allowed myself to dream big and do something I’ve longed to do but not had the courage to try? I can think of a few things that would fall into this category. Can you? Just like people didn’t actually marry on Feb. 29, but rather made the commitment to do so, I don’t have to actually accomplish the thing today … just commit to do so. I think I’ll use the rest of my day to decide which extraordinary thing I’ll commit to.

I’m proposing with all my heart: Will you, my dear blog friend … will you be extraordinary with me? Say yes and be blessed!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

