What can I do?


I’ve seen a lot of things on the internet recently, either articles or postings, that seem to be drenched in fear and the need to spread it. I don’t know if people are just focusing on the negative to a point that they fear everything and anything, or if I’m just noticing it in contrast to how I live my life. Trust me, I am realistic and not living a Pollyanna life. I know there is economic crisis, corruption, wars, and evil in the hearts and acts of mankind.

But I also know there is goodness, justice, kindness, and love. I subscribe to focusing on and changing that which is in my power. For example, I have no way to stop the Illuminati from taking over the world (if it exists or if they haven’t already). I cannot tell or affect if aliens are on their way to attack, abduct, or destroy. Nor can I suddenly make religions and countries change their beliefs and interactions with each other. I cannot make politicians be honest or corrupt men change their hearts. And I surely can do nothing if the world is going to end in Dec. 2012 as so many predict and believe.

But I assure you, there is plenty that I can do that actually makes a difference. I can be kind to my neighbors. I can teach my children right from wrong. I can be generous with my time, talent, and treasure. I can encourage the sad and love the lonely. I can forgive those who hurt me and end grudges that I may carry. I can (and do) pray to God and trust in his love. I can make a difference in my life, in my friends’ and family’s lives, and I can influence those that I come in contact with every day.

I read once that there are 365 versions of “fear not” in the Bible – one for each day of the year. Since that book influences me and my life, I find comfort in the fact that there is enough hope and protection to cover my every day. And if I should fall victim to aliens, the Illuminati, or the other evils in the world that people spend their time and energy to purvey, well, I know who wins in the end.

In the meantime, let us pick up our hope and our faith. Let us act in ways that make the world we touch a better place. Let our light shine brighter than the darkness that surrounds. And let us be blessed!

14 thoughts on “What can I do?

  1. First off I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Thanks!

    • Thank you for the kind words, I’m glad you enjoy my blog. To center myself I think the best thing is not to put pressure on myself. If the words flow I post, if they don’t I come back to it later. I don’t put a timeline on my writing. Sometimes I know what I’m going to say and sometimes I just write free form and clean it up later – just getting a thought on the page. Often I pray, nothing big and heavy, just a simple, “God, what needs to be said today.” That doesn’t mean I think God is telling me what to write but I feel the intention in the prayer is to allow me to listen to what my intuition is leading me to. And a word or thought always does seem to just sit in my head. So I just write that word or phrase and see where it leads me. I just don’t try “too” hard. I wouldn’t think of the first 10-15 minutes as a waste – it’s just how your brain is processing and wrapping the gift you want to put out into the world. The only suggestion or tip I really have is not to write for someone else. Your thoughts are yours. People will accept and like them or they won’t and it doesn’t really change the value of them. Write what you think/feel/wonder and it might flow easier. Best to you and be blessed!

  2. Thanks for posting an inspirational piece. I enjoy reading about positive things . Again thanks for posting …and for flying by my page.
    More blessings are on the way…..

  3. Barbara, a friend of mine, Ann Marquette, suggested your post. It is lovely and thought provoking. What can and should each of us be doing to make the world a better place. If only everyone thought this way. Thank you! Carol

  4. Pingback: Post by Barbara Bernard Miller “What can I do?” « Ann Marquette

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

