Spirit of Compassion, Hands of Service


According to Webster, Compassion: sympathetic consciousness of others’ distress, together with a desire to alleviate it.

This past week has been full of stories of destruction, devastation, death, and displacement due to the multiple tornadoes that ripped through our area on March 2. And the news that FEMA has declined assistance for those in our state who have lost everything has sat heavily on my heart. I am blessed that my family and I were left unscathed. My immediate circle of friends are safe but stories of their family and friends are starting to reach me. There are those who lost loved ones and others who lost both home and work. There are those who are being put out of what little they have left and have nowhere to go. My heart is heavy with  the thought of their despair.

I know that our town and region are just the latest in a long serious of disasters. Whether your area has been affected by tornadoes, hurricanes, tsunamis, earthquakes, or any other disaster, I reach out to you in prayer and with a heart of compassion.

Let us turn compassion into action and action into victory. There are ways we can help. We have excess we can share. We have hands for service and time to provide it. Let us take care of those in need, for indeed, someday it may be us.

Reach out and be blessed!

5 thoughts on “Spirit of Compassion, Hands of Service

  1. It seems the last few years there has been an increase of these natural disasters. My heart goes out to all those affected. Why has FEMA refused assistance to those in your area?

    • They said people’s needs can be handled by insurance or local charities. I’ve heard they are turning down more and more requests even though this is the most devastation this area has seen in 30 years. They are ignoring the needs of the truly poor but I’m not really surprised – it is the gov’t after all. So we rally to help. Thanks and be blessed!

  2. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I
    came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and wonderful design and style.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

