Disarm the Bullies


I often feel dissatisfied by the level of competitiveness that is in our society. Oh, yes, I’m a blue-blooded American who treasures the ability to compete and succeed. Don’t get me wrong on that. I believe healthy competition drives us all to do better work, create more innovation, and bring better and better options to light. But that’s business.

I think it’s ultimately hurtful and wrong to take that same level of business competitiveness into our personal interactions. Not every conversation needs to be a debate or argument to be won or lost. Not every activity needs to be you vs. me vs. the other guy. Sometimes we are served well to agree to disagree and not break the bonds of relationship. This is especially true when it comes to beliefs. There should be freedom for you to believe what you believe and make your choices accordingly. And the same for me – as long as those choices don’t hinder another or hurt someone. In general, that’s what I believe.

So when I read this quote from Mike Dooley I look at the world a little differently.

“When you understand that what most people really, really want is

simply to feel good about themselves,

and when you realize that with just a few well-chosen words

you can help virtually anyone on the planet instantly achieve this,

you begin to realize just how simple life is,

how powerful you are, and that love is the key.” ~ Mike Dooley

I see his words as a method to disarm the bullies. It’s a way to encourage the downtrodden. By looking at the true and beautiful essence of another we eliminate the need for winner/loser or better/worse labels. We no longer look at words like ugly, weird, stupid, geek, jerk, or any other as valid in our vocabulary.  When we show someone else they are valuable we open up the chance for them to see themselves that way too. Honoring the sacredness inside someone brings their divinity to the forefront. It honors all that is good in you and me because that thread of connectedness is one and the same.

So today, I hope that you see and focus on the loveliness of who you are. We are blessed by your existence. Share it and be blessed too!

3 thoughts on “Disarm the Bullies

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

