Walk of Faith


I come from a family (both natural and adopted) of people who are artistic. It is a God-given talent that some have used and others let lay dormant. I have some talent in this area that frankly, until now has been untapped and uncultivated, at least from a traditional drawing or painting perspective.  I am starting to hear the call to experiment and learn. Art is such a personal thing that I often wonder if what my eyes see and my hands create could ever capture the heart of another. Perhaps that’s not really the point of art, but it certainly is a desire.

Recently, however, I was pleased to see a TV show with artist Thomas Kinkade as guest. I have long been a fan of  the “painter of light.”  I have enjoyed the story of his meager beginnings and read the books he wrote wherein he paints his picture with words. He is not boastful as a famous painter might be. His persona is very down to earth. In his own words he is inspired by nature and the call of quietude. He certainly and deliberately infuses his faith into his works. He’s known to personalize his paintings by hiding the initials of his wife or child somewhere in his work as a way to honor them. In this show, I saw for the first time a new work he’s done. This man’s art really knows how to touch my heart, and I know by his fame and collectibility, that I am not alone in this.

This new work is entitled “Walk of Faith” and it depicts a lush garden (for which he is also famous) with two men walking side-by-side in conversation. One of the men is Jesus and in this painting it seems so natural for the two to be entwined in the conversation of friendship.  That picture captures what is in my mind and heart as I daydream of a heavenly “walk” with Jesus. It’s beautiful!

So I share this painting with you in the hopes it brings you comfort and peace as well. Be blessed!, I share the picture with you in hopes that it brings you a measure of comfort and joy as well. Be blessed!

3 thoughts on “Walk of Faith

  1. Pingback: RIP Thomas Kinkade | Mighty Inspiration

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

