Fingerprint of God


I was recently speaking to one of my dearest friends about her family, as we often do. She was telling me about her teenage son’s journey into questioning his faith. Until now he had always believed in God. There are lots of things fueling this change. As is a natural process, he’s growing into his own. He’s looking at life through his own eyes and not just through the stories his parents have told him. He’s experiencing people with different beliefs and circumstances that make all people question the sense of life and death. I believe, until and unless we question that which has been told to us, we don’t actually have real faith. It isn’t until we look into the face of doubt that we decide whether we can believe in a power greater than ourselves who is all-knowing, all-seeing, and all-powerful.

One comment my friend made about her son brought me back to my own days of discovering what I believe. She said, if he could find some hard fact evidence it would cement his faith and he would no longer question God. That is the crux of the matter isn’t it? It is that exact craving that we humans desire most to satisfy – to know without a shadow of a doubt. But then that isn’t faith, is it? I can’t say I ever didn’t believe, but in my early 20’s I did question why and how I could believe. For me, I’ve always had a sense of God in my life. But my searching lead me to look for evidence and I found it in nature. I have not found any possible way that all this could come from nothing. There has to be an architect in order for there to be architecture. There must be an ordered intelligence that has the ability to alter chaos into pattern. It matters not whether people tell me there was a big bang with evolution or a 7 day creation story. Either way, I believe there was first God, who is capable of creating this world from either method. The how is not important, but the WHO is.

As I look at this crazy world we live in, I don’t believe the “devil is in the details”. I believe God is in the details. Have you looked at patterns of nature? Have you heard of the Fibonacci sequence? It’s also known as the fingerprint of God. It is the exact pattern of spirals that exist throughout nature. It is precise and exact in its repetition. Just like a painter adds a signature to their work, God has put his signature on nature. Chance and nothingness cannot create an exact pattern in every created thing from galaxies to animals to plants to humans. Without a Divine planner, the plan could not unfold. These are the facts I urged my friend to have her son explore.

Here’s a few examples. I invite you to learn more and perhaps you too will see the fingerprint of God. “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.” Matthew 7:7

                                                               

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

