Life, Death, and Hope


These are troubling times and this week is proving to be especially troublesome for people I care dearly about. My aunt, who has many health issues had double bi-pass heart surgery yesterday. We are in the critical waiting hours to see if she will be alright. Today, my oldest and dearest friend is having a mastectomy in the first steps of her battle with breast cancer. These are just the latest 2 in a long string of people  I know who are standing on the brink of life and death. That’s such a scary place to be for them, as well as those who love them and never want to lose them. We are not alone in this situation, as it is the way that life works.

Today, as we remember the crucifixion of Jesus, I take solace in knowing that God loves us more deeply and unconditionally than we will ever truly comprehend. I know that his fears in facing life and death were just as real as my aunt’s and my dear friend’s. His friends and family suffered even more at his scourging and crucifixion because they saw no hope in the cruel and awful sequence of his death. Where my family and friends are seeing hope in the surgeon’s skilled hands and in the faith of our prayers. In contrast, there is no comparison.

And yet, I know that Jesus is with us as we go through these trying days. He does not want us to suffer as he did. He does not want us to have fear and no hope the way his mother and disciples did. He wants us to know love, foregiveness, and the possibility of hope. He wants us to know of his love and his sacrifice. He wants us to know the sweetness of his resurrection and what that truly means for us.

Today, I pray in repentence for all that Jesus died for in me. I pray gratefulness for his resurrection and salvation. And I pray, with a spirit of hope and expectation, for the full recovery and healing of my Jeans – Aunt Jean and Jeannie Bear, who are facing their own surrender in these days.

If you are a praying person too, I ask you to join me in these prayers. If not, I ask that you send positive and loving energy to my Jeans … and be blessed!

“When Jesus therefore had received the vinegar, he said,

‘It is finished’

and he bowed his head, and gave up his spirit.” John 19:30

3 thoughts on “Life, Death, and Hope

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

