RIP Thomas Kinkade



Thomas Kinkade is one of my favorite artists. I guess, from now on I’ll have to say – he was. I just read the news that he died suddenly yesterday of natural causes in his home in California. I am a fan. I even sent him a copy of my book a couple of years ago because he has been an inspiration in my life. I’ve read his books. I’ve watched the movie about his beginning in the painting field. I’ve learned so much about him as I listened to him on multiple occasions on TV. He was a very down-to-earth man who loved his family dearly and even painted their initials and symbols into his works in honor of them. He shared his work, his faith, his family, and his mission. But mostly he shared his talent – all over the world.

Yes, his paintings are very collectible, but that’s not why I like him. His ability to create positive, light-filled pictures that draw you in, along with his strong faith, were the real reasons I love his works.  He was inspired by the quiet, simple life, and strived to give us a captured moment depicting those elements in his works. He was known as the “Painter of Light” and that’s a perfect description of his paintings. I recently wrote a post about one of his works titled Walk of Faith. I should have purchased that painting when I had the chance. Perhaps, while it will surely cost more now, I still will some day.

In the meantime, may I simply say farewell and share a few more photos of his works. Be blessed Thomas, as you go home to paint for God.

6 thoughts on “RIP Thomas Kinkade

  1. Immediately when I heard this morning I thought of you and your deep appreciation for Mr Kinkade’s work. Sending you a big hug!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

