Simplicity – original poem


                                                  SIMPLICITY

Simplicity of living is calling, prodding, and nudging me

Urging examination of the need for the things I see.

Why was it so important to possess just one more?

Could it have been to mask the hole deep inside my core?

The broken heart of my childhood from being sent away

Would not be mended by the woman I am, as I opened my hand to pay.

The rejection I felt from days gone by was the reality I knew inside

But it wasn’t things that was going to fix the wound that was gaping wide.

So I look to clear the clutter of my heart and of my home.

Knowing the space it will open up will allow my spirit to roam.

I won’t trip over object d’art or stash them out of sight.

I’ll release them one by one and then I’ll have room to see the light.

There’s no need to clear it all away for beauty has its place.

But one will do to please my eyes and not steal all my space.

And with the open crevices I’ll find some clear, clean air.

For now there’s room in heart and home for peace if I but dare.

~ Barbara Bernard Miller

 

Artwork from:

http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/rodney-campbell.html

9 thoughts on “Simplicity – original poem

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

