Living Technicolor in a Black and White World


I’ve been in several conversations lately with people who tell me their world is black and white. Things are either good or bad. It’s all or nothing. A life of extremes or at least in my eyes, extreme decisions. Am I really that odd living in my shades of gray? Well, actually my world is technicolor.

Don’t get me wrong, there are a few things from a moral perspective that I believe are absolutely wrong. But those are but a handful. The rest belongs on a sliding scale that stretches from okay for someone else to good to better to best – for me. There’s room in my world for other opinions and I live and let live. I know my personality type allows for change and possibility and it makes life more delicious. To me, too many rules don’t make things better, but gives rise to more rebellion and judgments.

And the black and white world seems to be pervasive beyond just how people behave. It’s everywhere and here’s what it looks like:

> Things are new or trash. Wow that’s too bad. I’m not a hoarder but I find it fun to give something new life or a creative second purpose. I even know people who will never live in a previously owned home. It’s new homes only for them.

> There’s a right and a wrong way to do everything. Can you believe I’ve even been told there is a “right way” to make an ice cream sundae when you make them at home. Come on folks, really? I assure you it tastes good even if it doesn’t look like the pictures. And I wonder – is there really joy in that rigid approach to life? Lighten up a bit and put the cherries on the bottom once in a while!

> Everything is “mine” or “yours”. The black and white world is territorial too. I’ve gone to a church, being new to a town before and actually been chastised because I sat in someone’s pew and they NEVER change pews, or heaven forbid, they couldn’t sit 3 spots down. Really?? Pretty sure God can see you over there too, even in your non-welcoming, self-righteousness.

> Modern and trendy is the only way to go. Even in decorating the world I see seems black and white. So many people only accept the newest and trendiest. If it isn’t the newest, most modern design they won’t accept it. They miss out on the story and beauty of objects that were lovingly made and used over time. The character and workmanship across the ages lends texture and interest to me.

Sometimes I wonder if this black and white living is an American phenomenon. I know I’m not alone but my technicolor eyes seem a be a tad out-of-place sometimes. I like to see the shimmer and pizzazz of a life that has variety. And I love my world of colors. It’s juicier, sweeter, full of delightful sights, smells, tastes, textures, experiences and yumminess.

Tell me – what’s it like in your world and be blessed!

6 thoughts on “Living Technicolor in a Black and White World

  1. In the world of Jesus, the Pharisees wanted to make everything black and white and Jesus fought them every step of the way. So, you’re in good company. HF

  2. People are way into the ‘ME’ generation of thought. I don’t understand it. My generation never had anything handed down on a silver platter. When things got better, we were pleased with the fruits of our labour. Today’s generation have this expectation that they are entitled. ENTITLED? Please. I think you ought to earn it not just stick our your hand.

    • Amen sister! I agree. I try to sway my children and am successful on many fronts but even with that, I’m not the only inputter to their point of view. I’ll just be happy with me – that’s all I can do.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

