Gift of Grace


Over the years I’ve learned  a lot about people by observing how readily they grant “grace” to others. I surely have learned that there are many times and situations when the greatest gift I could receive is just that – a little grace.

I’m sure I’m not using the term in the same way theologians might. I’m not really referencing God’s saving grace. Nor his Divine grace and love directly, although I believe we have it in us to give because we are part of the Divine.

The grace I’m talking of is about loving someone in their weakest, ugliest, or most unlovable moments. And rather than punishing them … we let it go, on purpose and without malice. It’s about honoring their intention and the person we know them to be, which is good, even if in the moment they were not successful at showing it. That’s the grace I try to give, and I know I need the most.

So to all my friends, family, co-workers, and strangers … I thank you for granting me grace when …

* I forgot to send the birthday or holiday cards on time. I love you, I just got busy and forgot.

* I was in such a hurry that I forgot to look up and missed saying hello. I wasn’t angry or stuck up, just busy.

* I was in such pain I overlooked your need to connect. I could scarcely think of anything outside my pain.

* I got so excited or impassioned that I interrupted you. It’s my extroverted flaw I’ll be working on my whole life.

* I made a mistake and was embarrassed so I didn’t apologize as soon or as well as I should. My heart wanted to do better.

*  I didn’t pause long enough to acknowledge or thank you for your efforts. I truly appreciate you even in the hurried moments that I don’t say it.

* And so many more …

I acknowledge freely that I need grace more often than I want to admit. I need you to love me because you know that I am doing my best, even though in some moments my best isn’t very good. I try to make up for that when my best is shining bright.

I joyously, humbly, and thankfully accept your grace. And I offer you grace in return.  Be blessed!

6 thoughts on “Gift of Grace

  1. Pingback: Pure Grace « L.E.G.A.C.Y.

  2. Pingback: Learning Grace « Looking to the Sky

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

