I Am a Mother – original poem


May is traditionally the month we honor mothers here in the US. Here’s a new poem in honor of all mothers – those that we are and those that we love. Be blessed!

I AM A MOTHER

Looking into your face I see all that you are.

No secrets of your past can change my heart.

No struggles of the future will cool my love.

I have no illusions of your mortal perfection.

But I recognize and acknowledge your perfect soul.

Your arrival was blessed and inspired devotion.

I saw you grow by inches and learn by miles.

I celebrate your endless possibilities.

I know you on a cellular and heart level.

And love you on every emotional plane.

Your mistakes are for learning and triumphs for growth.

And I go with you as you carry my lessons into your life.

I cannot change your path but I guide your steps.

I cannot protect you from all harm but I comfort your pain.

I cannot walk every step but I light your way with my wisdom.

I hold nothing back.

I reserve no love ungiven.

I am blessed in seeing my place in creation.

I am a mother.

~ Barbara Bernard Miller

One thought on “I Am a Mother – original poem

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day celebrating … | Mighty Inspiration

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

