New Normal


Today I was talking to someone in my life who I hold very dear. A sweet spirit who has lived a life in service and in quiet faith. Recently she’s faced several health set backs. While she has come through them well, she’s been struggling with the concept of “how things used to be.” And when people tell her how good she looks but inside she feels bad, she forgets that people can only see her outside “best face”. Her pain and discomfort make her feel invisible and it is harder for her to see a future that will never look like the past.

That conversation reminded me of all the times in my life that I struggled because I had my eyes on the past and not on the present. I talked to her about the need to embrace a “new normal.” When we accept that what used to be normal is in a closed chapter we allow the new chapter to unfold and be okay. We look for and build a new day with new routines and new measures of success. We create a new normal. And while the transition isn’t easy, if we are aware of it, we stand the chance for a smoother, shorter struggle.

When I left her she seemed a little more comfortable with the idea. I know change is difficult for her but I felt that our conversation was a first step in the journey of turning around from the backward view and looking forward to what is new.

I know I am constantly creating new normals in my life. What about you?

Be blessed!

6 thoughts on “New Normal

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

