Your Best


I had a saying that I taught my children, “Give your guest your best.” It’s actually a quote from a children’s book that I have long forgotten the title to. But the concept was a simple one that really helped my children to share their best stuff, give the biggest cookie, or the best seat, or the  longest turn to their friends. But it’s not just about giving your best stuff, but also your best effort, your best attitude, and your best self.  I think it served my family well. My children still hear me say it or parrot it back to me from time to time.

I like to carry that concept into the workplace as well. There are so many times that I get interrupted for a question, advice, shoulder to cry upon, to wage a complaint, for a last-minute “favor” or any number of other things. I’ve decided that HR is the “all other” folks. If you don’t know who to ask, well, by all means go ask HR. I don’t really mind, but I must say, we get some strange and wacky requests because people think that way.

By living the concept of giving my guest (or my customer) the best, it stretches me to be 100% present for them in the exchange. Trust me, it isn’t always easy. I know I’m not always successful. But having the mindset and making the effort is what I think helps me put the HUMAN back into the Human Resources. This is the work I have chosen to do. The is the person I strive to be.

So I ask you – do you give your guest (boss, family, customer, friends, yourself) your best? What’s stopping you? What’s helping you. In all these things, be blessed.

6 thoughts on “Your Best

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

