Tiny Fawn Gift


Yesterday I was graced to see a family of deer crossing by while at a SoulCollage®  class. The entire group was delighted by the brief sighting, which included the smallest little fawn we had ever seen. It was about the size of a medium-sized dog. The legs were so fragile and you could tell it was tentatively and trustingly following mama very closely. It was a sweet moment in my day.

In addition to it being a tender moment of appreciation of the beauty of the animals it made me think of my role as mother.  Right now I’m in that in between stage with my children. They are legally adults and starting to create their independent lives. And yet they are still within reach as they live at home. Well, ok to be clear, they sleep at home. While I no longer direct their moves there is comfort in knowing they are not too far yet. They can reach back to me in a moment of need. They are still close enough that I know their friends. I have some view into their daily lives. I am close enough to see their bold and courageous  moves out into the world. I  am proud that they have kept the essence of what I taught them. They are kind, morale young people with a creative spirit. They are so different from each other but I can recognize myself in each of them. There is something beautiful in awareness. I hope they have learned well and carry with them the best in me.

Yes, that little deer family gave me a gift yesterday. They allowed me to take a moment of awareness to look at my own family with appreciation and gratitude. Nature always seems to bring a gift when I take a moment to really see it.

I am blessed. Be blessed too!

2 thoughts on “Tiny Fawn Gift

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

