Generosity of Spirit


I am continually surprised by the generous spirit of people I have been coming into contact with lately. Whether it’s a helping hand, a kind word, some financial assistance, or just grace in spirit, I seem to see more of it each day. Even strangers seem to be a little more gracious lately. This is a pleasant surprise that lights up the moments of my days.

I have a couple of theories as to why this may be happening:

1) As I personally generate more lightness, tenderness, and compassion, I receive it as well. This is in line with the Bible’s teachings of giving. (“Give, and it will be given to you. They will pour into your lap a good measure– pressed down, shaken together, and running over. For by your standard of measure it will be measured to you in return.” Luke 6:38)

2) As times become increasingly difficult for more people, either due to medical bills, loss of jobs, increased costs, etc. we are beginning to understand the plight of others on a more personal level. That understanding is leading to an extra dose of compassion. We are judging each other less and understanding each other more. Difficulty creates a level playing field. And when seeing someone a little worse off than themselves, people are opening their hearts and hands to help.

I know, there are some people who are more bitter – but I think they were bitter anyway. Nothing changes for a dark heart except more darkness.

In these times, these “end times” as some believe, the dark becomes darker and the light becomes lighter.

I challenge us all to beam brightly and tenderly … and be blessed!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

