Jack-hammering my way to peace…


Today, as we affectionately say at my house, I am doing a bunch of “wondering and pondering”. I do that a lot, which is the basis for this blog. Aren’t you lucky that you get to travel the crevices and mysterious tunnels inside my head? lol

Today’s topic is jack-hammering. This odd topic is inspired by the fact that I have the “pleasure” of hearing the sound of jack-hammers literally outside my office window as the city is working on the sidewalk and street. My jack-hammer nemesis is a mere 15 feet from my desk. Unlike the guys wielding the tool, I do not get the benefit of ear protection. Of course the whole building is shaking. My teeth are shaking in my head. Needless to say, my thoughts are tumbling around and likely falling out my ears. Concentration is at a dribble vs. the normal flow. So I’m declaring an impromptu jack-hammering break. I haven’t had a proper break in a while given the pace at work these days, so no apologies here. Besides it amounting to near-torture to hear the incessant pounding, I must say it is giving me the gift of opportunity to ponder. If my thoughts are choppy, well, you’ll know why!

The physical jack-hammering going on in my environment is making me think of the spiritual, emotional, and mental jack-hammering going on in the rest of my life. What nagging, incessant pounding am I taking that is keeping me from achieving all that I can? I can think of a few just sitting here … college loan bills, leaking basement, daughter going to NYC alone (again), work pressures, relationship dynamics, my son’s wedding planning, the broken cabinet in the kitchen, my friends who are in crisis of various kinds … And the list goes on and on. Without being conscious of it, my brain is constantly barraging me with blow upon blow of worry, fear, and discouragement.

So … now that I am shedding the light of consciousness on these things, the trick is how do I make them stop?! For me, I have a simple remedy. It doesn’t make those things go away, but it does refocus me back into peace. I breathe and I pray. The one thing I have learned in my journey is that changing the way I pray, changes everything for me. I used to pray with requests. I no longer do that. I now pray in gratitude – always. It goes something like this:

“Thank you God that all of my needs and desires are met by YOU! Thank you that no matter what bill arises, you are my provider and I have more than enough to cover the need. Thank you God that no matter what sickness comes upon me, you are the healer of my body, mind and soul. Thank you God that you bring the right people into my life that will guide me, support me, help me and love me. Thank you God that you are all I need and you will never forsake me. Thank you that I have peace in my spirit and protection in my coming in and my going out. Thank you God that you are handling the situation that I am facing, all for my benefit and for  your glory. Thank you God that I can do all things through you and that I have all things from you. Thank you!”

With this simple type of prayer, I know that I do not have to ask for every little thing. And when I do want to go into the details I always, always do it in gratitude of the solution. I don’t have to worry about forgetting something or finding the right words. I often do go through a list of people who I bless with peace and healing. God knows my needs and I need simply to stand in gratitude. It NEVER, EVER fails me. This prayer has changed how I see life and how I receive all that I need.

I pray, in gratitude, that you be blessed this way too!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

