Expansion and Shrinkage


I have been watching and noticing the stories in our world these days. I am so aware of the great dichotomy that exists in our cultural and communal conscience. On one hand we have the expansion of fear. On the rise is disappointment, danger, disregard, and disrespect. The news makes me nearly breathless with the stories of evil acts and heartbreaking sadness. I know the dark is growing but really, do we need the microscopic details? Does it do us good to see the gore and analyze the wickedness? The swelling madness is a symptom but it is not our truth. At least, I think not.

And, on the opposing side we see the shrinkage of hope. There is so much attention and focus on the shriveling economy and the descending  doom that we can scarcely catch a breath. We can see a kind deed if we look but it is hidden from first glance. And I find very few people willing to take the action to coax it into the fullness of possibility. Are you looking for the small hope to grow in your life? My desire is to see the shrinking hope expand to a pulsing, powerful movement of positivity.

We have the power to reverse the tide. We have within our hands and mouths the power to change the way we connect. Do a kind deed. Speak a kind word. Create a tiny ripple, and then a wave of positive change. All it takes is the enticement of your true creative and positive nature to raise itself up and lead.

Are you up for the challenge? Do you see the opportunity for hope and possibility in your life? Expand and be blessed!

4 thoughts on “Expansion and Shrinkage

  1. Ah yes Barb. I often think of these things, yet I do hear wonderful stories of others helping others. More of the good stories need to be shared, and less of the negative. When I have those moments of disappointment, frustration with the economy and the news of one step forward then 2 steps back I stop myself and remember my blessings. I walk with Jesus through it all, and I know that trusting in God’s love I will be ok. The most wonderful blessing we have on this earth is our relationships with the people in our lives.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

