Freaky Friday


Well, yesterday was indeed a “freaky Friday”! First the weather was 104 then a strange storm system or rather group of storms sweeps in and an hour later it’s 77 degrees. That storm was so odd. I was on the eastern side of town and noticed the skies were so dark and it rained very hard, very quickly and then it seemed to pass. So off I went from one event to get home for my niece’s birthday.

A drive that typically takes 30 minutes took 90 minutes! Yikes! The sun is shining like nothing happened. But so many lights were out along the way – last I heard it was about 25 lights out in my area alone. That means slow stop-sign like progress at every turn. As I finally pull into my neighborhood I see the electricity was out, trees and limbs down everywhere and neighbors scurrying around helping clean up. Not sure if it had even rained as the streets were dry. Strange.

Then I get the knock on the door to come look at the side of my house where the winds sheared off the siding. Double weird as that is the protected side of the house – not exposed to winds but facing, about 8 feet away, from my neighbor’s house.  Not a scratch on his siding across that huge 8 foot abyss but mine was strewn or hanging off all over the side. Thankfully it will be minimal damage that may or may not require me to tap my homeowner’s insurance.

And if that wasn’t strange enough I heard today that there are so many houses all over the state without power from this freaky storm that Ohio is now a state emergency area. The governor is concerned because the power companies are saying it could take a week to get everyone up and running. They don’t really know why the power is out all over the place but it’ll take a long time to get to it all.  Mother Nature is keeping us in the high 90’s for that period of time – thus the emergency. Reminds me of when the hurricane Ike came inland and hit Cincinnati about 3 years ago. I think I know alot of folks who need a Calgon break – at least the cool water in a tub might help in this heat!!

So, I’ve declared yesterday as Freaky Friday. One more example of either 1) Mother Nature going through the change of life; 2) the end of the world is coming and this is one of many, many strange natural predictors; or 3) Al Gore was right and global warming is ruining everything! Darn you Al Gore!  lol Who knows!

Hope you survived Freaky Friday unscathed! Stay cool and be blessed!

3 thoughts on “Freaky Friday

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.