A lesson in trust


Today I learned a lesson in trust. Not because someone broke my trust but because they didn’t. Sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in my fears. When I look at new situations with the suspicions of the past I have done a disservice to both myself and the person I’m dealing with. They can neither know our pains nor anticipate our buttons.

And what I learned today is that while holding onto my own fear and my own self preservation I didn’t see theirs. I didn’t recognize the signs of their pain. I didn’t  know they had the same lesson in their life. Patience, compassion, and the willingness to take a risk allowed us both to share and see the other side. It wasn’t  easy but it was worth it. And I was able to move from fear to freedom. As the Bible says, “the truth shall set you free.”

I have come a long way in learning lessons from my past. So I choose to acknowledge that and pick up with a new possibility. I choose to look at the future as bright, not as bleak. I choose to leave the person who hurt me behind in exchange for a new slate with someone else. I’m glad I had the lesson today. I’m glad I spoke out and I’m glad I pushed myself to be open. In the end, the lesson I learned in the past has opened me up to the sweetness of trust in my today.

Be open. Be trusting. And be blessed!

5 thoughts on “A lesson in trust

  1. Barbara, I love this and it relates to my current circumstance. Your “I’m glad I spoke out and I’m glad I pushed myself to be open.” Sadly I have a situation with a family who kept telling me one thing, but is not true to their word. Although I hate confrontation, I finally had to speak out and stand up for my rights (legal rights). It was uncomfortable, but your post has given me confidence in knowing I was right to stand up for myself. I am slowly reading The Untethered Soul which is inspiring, encouraging and teaching me a lot.
    Thanks 🙂

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

