Taking Steps


Today seems to be an auspicious day around here. Retirement day has arrived for so many of my colleagues. Due to some company restructuring this is the final work day for a varied collection of friends, colleagues, and acquaintances.  Some have celebrated their accomplishments and milestone quietly with family and close friends and others are having wide sweeping parties. We had a dress-up Groovy 70’s party to celebrate one person today. It was so fun to see the happy atmosphere and what a great way to take advantage of the timing.  The journey for them has led to an introspective review of my own journey.

For the most part I have spent my career in this one company. I have worked part-time, full-time, and for a brief stretch as a stay-at-home mom. All have their advantages. But it’s the trip down memory lane that we took with my friend Carol that has touched me. I left this company once before when we relocated to another state. I left “kicking and screaming” as they say as it was not part of my personal plan. And yet the experience was great and ripe with personal growth and irreplaceable memories with my children. Then when we returned to Cincinnati, I reluctantly returned to work here knowing it was what my family needed financially. Since then I have approached work so much differently. I no longer cling to or run to a role based on the work or advancement opportunity alone. I approach the changes knowing that there is someone where I’m going that I am destined to meet. Some personal or spiritual connection that is lining itself up with my path. And it has come true in every case.

As I look at my friends who are retiring, I can feel the call of change beckoning me as well. Not to retire (just yet) anyway. But to come to another area of the business. There are people to meet, and connections to make that are critical for my life’s journey. I am open to the change – with one step on the path of excitement and one step on the path of longing for that which is familiar. It takes courage to take the foot off that last step and reach for the unknown. I feel my courage growing.

I encourage you to step out on your path … and be blessed!

One thought on “Taking Steps

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

