Soul Tending


I had some real insights today when I was participating in a SoulCollage ® workshop with my friend Mar. Our theme today was gratitude, and as I wrote earlier this week, it’s a topic I’m working on in my life in general. During my one-to-one sharing I dug a little deeper into one of the images that I had created (see right). The experience left me a bit in awe. I’m not surprised really – that’s what “tending the soul” does when we actually take time to do it.

Have you ever taken the time to look back at the hopes and dreams that you had as a young adult? It is a time when the innocence of spirit is fresh and all things are possible. In that time we have an image of ourselves – how we want to live our lives, the impact we wish to have in the world. And the ideals of who we are and what our life’s purpose is. I remember those days and I always thought that I’d do small things that would make me and my family comfortable. Sure, I wanted to learn and progress in my career. I wanted to marry and have a family. But it seems I wasn’t dreaming big then – well, not as big as I am today.

In my reflection time, I also tarried a bit to notice the struggles and the barriers that my younger self was faced with. Those changed my course time after time. Some of them eroded the edges of my dreams. Others created opportunities for me to choose my convictions, solidify my beliefs, and create my current path. The result of this reflection is the realization that my current self, my current wisdom and strengths, are actually greater than “what could have been.”

I live larger now than I thought I would. I spread my passion broadly. I love with greater compassion than I ever thought was possible. I listen, discern, and rely on my intuition because I have come to know that it is my greatest link to my truth. The current, older version of myself is exactly who I am meant to be. That’s a wonderful insight. It’s liberating actually. It’s also a challenge for me to fulfill my true purpose, and not just the dreams of a younger version of myself. I am where I am supposed to be. All is well.

Be blessed!

 

3 thoughts on “Soul Tending

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

