Everyday, ordinary people …


I’m inspired these days by stories I read and hear about from “everyday, ordinary people.” Here’s a recent example.

400138_10200236110682680_720733537_nI for one love things that harken back to times gone by. I love antiques, Victorian houses and items of beauty, and things that fill my home with a sense of unique and cozy style. Because of that I have a collection of Tiffany inspired lamps. My favorites have come from ShopNBC who has a line called “Style at Home by Margie.”  Margie Commerford travels the world for her company  River of Goods in order to offer these beauties. No, this isn’t a commercial for them, but it is part of the story. I’m winding my way there. 🙂

Well Margie has many fans of her company (River of Goods) and her items. One fan even created a Facebook page called “I love my Margie home”. I’m of course a member of that group. Recently someone posted a video about a one of Margie’s employees who recognized one of their lamps from a story about the flooding from superstorm Sandy. The owner said the beautiful lamps lit her soul and made her house a home. That home is now destroyed. The employee, Marco, was so moved he went to his company, River of Goods, to see what they could do. The video was a news clip and interview showing Marco, and the CEO talking about how they donated Tiffany style lamps to the first responders, as well as the family who lost the lamp in the superstorm that had originally caught his attention. Here’s the video clip.

That story, a simple story of one man who recognized his product as a regretted loss by someone who’s only wish was to get their home back, truly touched me. We sometimes get caught up in the illusion that we have to change the whole world in order to make a difference. But the reality is, each and every one of us has something to give. We have some way to recognize need or pain and to change the life of one, a few, or many people. We don’t always see or value how much our simple gestures touch someone else. This man gave light – beautiful, colorful light, to people he had never met. And in that moment, he gave hope. He gave compassion. He passed on the light. I’m sure, if we had a way to trace that tiny thread through the lives of those he gave to, or who heard or saw what he did, we would see the light spreading and changing the world. Thank you Margie! Thank you River of Goods and Lavina! And especially Thank You Marco for spreading your light! You have been an inspiration.

Tell me readers, how do you spread your light?

Don’t forget, for every comment you leave on my blog, I will donate 50 cents to my declared charity of the month. Spread the word, spread the love, and help me change the world. It’s free for you and fun for me! Be blessed!

7 thoughts on “Everyday, ordinary people …

  1. Thank you for posting this. I am very moved. We always receive so much more than we give. Marco came back so humbled and grateful to have this chance and it inspires us to do more. I have always loved our business because of the love and passion that is behind it. It makes all the difference. Greed never feels good.

    • Thanks Margie for your commenting. I was so touched by the story and it made me fall in love with your company even more than I am. Is that even possible??? lol Keep up the great work and send my regards to Marco and all involved! Thanks and be blessed!

  2. Hi Barbara, I recently found out that you blog on twitter. I, too am a twitter fan. Lets follow each other and spread Margie’s goods. Find me on Virginia Urbach (urbachvurbach) or virgie marapao.

    • Sounds good Virginia. Actually this blog and my FB page auto publishes my Twitter. I’ll go check it out. Thanks for your comment – I do love Margie and now I like her company even more! Be blessed!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

