Drinking from the Fire Hose


drink-out-of-a-hoseWow – I’ve been in training for my new role at work and have decided that I am now officially drinking from the fire hose. Wow!

I have worked for my Company since 1981 and held many roles there. This is only the 2nd time that I’m moving to a job that I have no background or knowledge in – and it’s a little scary! I wanted the change and look forward to shaking things up a bit. But, not gonna lie, I forgot what it feels like to be 100% new.

Lucky for me I have a friend who works on my new floor so I have moral support. And I have 3 employees and a boss who has worked in this area for virtually their entire career so I have technical support. Now I just need to keep putting that one foot in front of the other, or said another way, one question after the other. I think my brain is swimming right now.

waterwingsOnly 2 more training days – tomorrow and one day next week. After that I get to swim in the deep end. Wonder if I can get a set of water wings to keep me afloat.

What’s your best advice for an old dog trying to learn some new tricks?

Be blessed!

11 thoughts on “Drinking from the Fire Hose

  1. I know you will be successful at this new position. When faced with challenges the power of prayer and meditation, to get centered, have proved invaluable. Breathe and take it one step at a time so as not to be overwhelmed. God Bless you and all your endeavors. Jay

  2. Stay positive and take lots of notes; keep them handy. God knew you would be dealing with this and will help you through it. Change is seldom easy, but it does help us grow.

  3. I understand your new challenge. It is exciting and scary at the same time. Remember you ARE totally capable and good at what you do. When you feel overwhelmed, and/or a bit nervous…stop, take a few deep breaths, and say “Through Jesus Christ I can do all things” knowing that He is beside you and will gently guide you through the next steps.

    Congrats on the new job

    • Thanks Ann – that is excellent advice. That’s actually one of my favorite scriptures and I do need to remember to use it. Thanks for the encouragement. Hope all is well with you!!! Be blessed!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

