History in Fabric


History – we all have one, but some are clearer and deeper than others. We have ancestors which we look like. We have stories we’ve heard countless time from parents, grandparents and others. We may live in family homes passed from generation to generation. And yet some of us live with mystery for history. I’m finding that the more I learn and understand my history, the more I am aware of myself – big things and tiny nuances come into focus.

My history is quite short though, having been adopted. I actually have two threads – one that goes back to my birth family where I have very little information. And a second thread that weaves through my “real” family – the ones who raised me. That is the family that I relate to the most. Those are the stories I can almost recite having heard them at the feet of my grandparents.

Bernard's Wedding QuiltEven with this dual history I find that I really don’t have any items in my home that belonged to anyone further back than an aunt or grandparent. Those that I have, I truly cherish. One of my favorites is a quilt that I have had tucked away. It’s been displayed off and on over the years in my various homes. I’m delighted to have pulled it back out this week and can see it every day again. This quilt was a wedding gift for my grandparents, Jule & Mabel Bernard. They are the couple that changed my life. It started when they would take me and my siblings out of the orphanage for “friends of the orphans day”. Eventually, I was adopted by their daughter when she married. I was able to keep them in my life as grandparents. They blessed me in so many ways.  Having this quilt that they received on their wedding day means so much to me. I don’t use it, although it is in pristine condition. But I love it for all that it stands for. It’s bold. It’s satin. And it’s symbolic of a love that lasted a lifetime. It’s also a touch-point for me to my history. I’m blessed to still have my grandmother. She’s 93 and not able to get out anymore. But she still remembers the stories. Here’s a picture of my quilt, displayed with pictures of my grandparents, parents, and my kids. When I see it, I can remember the fun times we had together. I can remember my history.

What is the most precious treasure you have from your history? I’d love to see a picture if you have one.

Remember and be blessed!

8 thoughts on “History in Fabric

  1. Maybe I should start putting interest in my history. I may not be able to remember any physical or material item that is symbolic to my history, but I sure have values handed down from my grandparents that I would always cherish. My grand parents were hospitable, loving and generous. They were also disciplined and signified excellence. I just hope they handed me the virtue of trail blazing! 🙂

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

