My queue is filling up …


week1Well I have sailed through my first week on the new job. Tomorrow I go back to train my replacement on part of my old job so I’m calling week 1 complete. 🙂

computer-frustrationWhew! It’s been a whirlwind kind of week! I’ve had access issues and problems with every single system I need to use. Was it the gremlins activating Murphy’s law? Yep, that’s my theory and I’m sticking with it. I even had trouble with my new phone line – so if you called me, I really wasn’t avoiding you, I just didn’t know. Perhaps that was a blessing in disguise so no-one could hear me threatening the computer to “make my day” because of the crazy access issues.

I’ve learned a few things this week beyond the basics of my tasks and responsibilities. First, that folks in this area are very data focused and decidedly NOT relationship/people focused. When I suggested we “join-up” as an introduction of ourselves and backgrounds to several individuals as I met with them for the first time I received some blank stares, flat out “no”, a declaration that they didn’t need new friends, and even some ignoring that I had asked the question. Geez people, I didn’t ask you to go shopping, donate a kidney, or play truth or dare. A brief, corporate-worthy, dry bio review or howdy-do would have been an acceptable minimum. I got it, I got it – this place is “different”. Better luck next week Barb – maybe. Now I know why we need some HR career folks to bring a little bit of the human back to the Human Resources over here. Lucky for them, I’m resilient as well as friendly. 🙂 Now, to be fair, most people in this area are actually IT or F&A career coded, or used to be, so I’ll grant them a bit of grace and slack.

But, most surprising, and I don’t know why, is that my completely different HR experience has already come in handy. My new boss is grateful that I have an understanding of the Company at large, the business practices in other areas, as well as basic HR facilitation skills. She’s complimented me on bringing not only fresh eyes, but some HR structure to the team. Putting a smile on the boss’s face the first week is a very good thing.  I am grateful that my new boss sees the value I can bring from my experience.

people_queueLuckily, real life is usually way, way less scary than our imaginations lead us to believe. I came trough unscathed. I’m glad I came. I can see a place for  me to learn, grow, collaborate, and teach here. I can see the queue of people I am supposed to meet in my life here starting to grow. I am blessed!

Any new adventures in your world? Do tell …. and be blessed!

4 thoughts on “My queue is filling up …

  1. Congrats on your first week in new job. Any new job has its struggles getting to know the job and the people. YOU will make a very positive impact…even though it may take a bit longer with the different type of personalities in the IT bubble 🙂 Blessings to you Barb.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

