Small town life on the world-wide web


online communityI have found myself a bit surprised over the years to realize that the world-wide web is both vast and daunting, as well as small and inviting. It has elements of a huge city and at the same time, characteristics of a small town.

The blossoming of all the social networking pages like Facebook and this blog has connected me to people in the virtual community that I would have zero chance to meet and mingle with in the physical community. Here I have readers from 113 countries to-date that read and communicate with me. I have friends who I’ve met from FB – some of the groups like “I Love My Margie Home” as well as private groups of people I know in Cincinnati. I have connected with long-lost relatives, reconnected with grade school and high school friends. I have celebrated faith and family, and giggled with moments of humor. Each of these types of venues and virtual connections actually fill a space in my heart.

I have found inspiration, compassion, prayer connections, encouragement, challenging and thoughtful conversation, played games and so much more. Do you feel the small town feel in your walk through the world wide web? Do you find yourself calling physical strangers your virtual friends?

I feel blessed today because of my connections. Be blessed too!

4 thoughts on “Small town life on the world-wide web

  1. Lots of negative things have been said about social media and the internet. I choose to see the positive like you. I have hooked up with OLD friends from school, which would have been impossible had it not been for social medial. I have also become acquaintanced with wonderfully warm and like-minded people. Without this wonderful technology, I would never have felt this lucky.

    Thanks you for bringing the favourable side to light. Anything can be bad; it depends how you use it.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

