On the Brink of Change – original poem


ON THE BRINK OF CHANGE

Standing here, on the brink of change I dangle my toes over.

Spurred by the sticky sensation of old habits dripping down my back

The lure of a better way, a better day tickles my hesitant feet.

I glance back at the days of the past unsatisfied by what was.

That is enough.

That is what finally tempts me to take the first step.

And change begins just like that.

Not with a big bang, but with a single step.

I am in the midst.

I move forward aware of the long path ahead.

With each step, I notice “what was” is throwing stones to get attention.

The comfort zone of discontentment cannot lure me back.

It is becoming a diminishing speck.

I grasp the hand of new habits, new thoughts, and new action.

Change has become my new friend welcoming me into new sensations and realizations.

This is my creation, full of the sparkle of mystery and opportunity.

I am new knowing it doesn’t have to be the way it was,

Now that I’ve left the brink of change.

~ Barbara Bernard Miller

SkyDeck Chicago sky ledge foot

6 thoughts on “On the Brink of Change – original poem

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

