Digging out of the funk!


spread-good-energy-300x263Well, last week was a week of lessons for me. While I’m certainly not perfect at it, I consider myself to be a friendly, upbeat, and positive person. I love that my words have been inspirational to some, and my friendship has been comforting to others as well. My sense of humor goes a long way most of the time and it helps me to make friends pretty easily wherever I go. And I’m grateful for that.

But last week I came face-to-face with a situation with a couple of people that took the wind out of my sails. My usual ‘charm’ clearly wasn’t working. And I found myself in a situation where my heart was hurting and I was sliding into a “funk” because of the repeated negative interactions. How the heck did I get here? How on earth was I going to make it better? And would it even matter if I tried?!

I have a strong faith and I certainly turned that way. I have a few dear friends who lent an ear and shined their perspective on the situation. All of these were good, but I couldn’t seem to shake off the funk. Then I started to think about that “law of attraction” stuff I have so often read about and certainly believe in. So I decided to try this … I started reading only positive things, speaking positive things, seeking and sharing positive things. And that’s how I found myself digging out. Today, I feel like the shift has happened. It wasn’t instant but it was profound. My smile is back. My optimism has returned. I feel like I found a tool that I knew about but never really had to utilize before. It’s not magic, it’s just the unarguable law of nature – you attract to yourself that which you put out into the world. And, as the bible says, “seek and you shall find.”

What do you use to dig yourself out of an emotional ‘funk’?

525198_246653595477021_806831039_n

6 thoughts on “Digging out of the funk!

  1. My husband is very negative and I always have to show him the bright side of things. It seems every day he complains about something or other. Sometimes it really gets to me–he never did that before we were married.

    • Keep shining your positive light – I feel it and your husband will take it in even if you don’t see it’s manifestation yet. Thanks for always encouraging me! Be blessed!

  2. I have found so often that what you put out into the world through thoughts and actions do come back to you in the same form!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

