50 Acts of Kindness – 1-10


Well I’ve decided to post the acts of kindness in no particular order because some were big and some were small, and yet, they all had an impact. Enjoy the journey with me! I’m posting the category and the pictures below.

#1 – Sick & Needy:  Toiletries to the homeless. So many people shared their extra items from travels and trips around the globe. Bethany House in Cincinnati is an organization that many people in my family have volunteered for through the years so we donated bags and boxes full of goodies to them.

toiletries     Bethany house - toiletries

#2 – Babies & Children: Bags of spare diapers were placed in restrooms near highways and at parks for those times when nature calls and supplies are low:

Diapers in restrooms

#3 – Those Who Serve: Yummy treats for the Police Dept. Weren’t able to get any pictures with the officers but here’s the 2 big trays of baked goods that we delivered:

treats for police2

#4  Just Because – Food, treats and tennis balls delivered to the SPCA. This was a favorite stop as my friend volunteers there and was able to let us interact with one of the dogs. If anyone in Cincinnati is looking for a dog, this one named DARGO at the SPCA in Sharonville was a sweetheart. He really liked my daughter and was more than happy to sit pretty for a treat or to run and catch a ball. Please check out the SPCA for wonderful animals who come ready to pour love into your family.

SPCA - Barb with Dargo SPCA - Maria with Dargo

#5 Babies & Children – Donated beads for the American Heritage Girls kindergarten group who make bracelets to symbolize their projects and accomplishments. Sometimes the little things that aren’t covered in the budget make a difference. Here’s my niece accepting them on behalf of American Heritage Girls.

SAMSUNG

#6 – Those Who Serve – Gave the waitress at breakfast a 50% tip. She was so cute and enthusiastic about our adventure of the day that I couldn’t resist bringing her into it as one of the acts of kindness.

SAMSUNG

#7 Those Who Serve – Donated gift bags to the workers at the hospice center. We weren’t able to get a picture inside and I wouldn’t want to invade the privacy of any people going through these times but I have a picture of my friend Shelly out front of the building. The funny thing is, the gift sets were given to the workers there as part of the group that serve and they graciously turned and gave them to the families who are going through the hospice experience. Those who give never cease to honor that kindness within.

Shelly - front of Hospice

#8 Just Because – Donated miscellaneous items to a woman who voluntarily does bingo each week at one of the area nursing homes. It’s just a few things but every bit counts.

cat treats and ball for dogs

#9 Sick & Needy – Gave stained glass night light lamps to women at the nursing home who don’t receive many visitors – some just don’t have family and it’s sad to know that they are living day by day with no-one to visit. They lit up like kids at Christmas. Here’s just a few of the many. A special thanks to River of Goods & Margie Commerford for her generous donation of 3 cases of these lovely lamps.  There’s a little more light in the world of these ladies now!

2013-08-15 11.27.37 2013-08-15 11.31.46 2013-08-15 11.37.32

#10 Just Because – Gave water bottles to crews working on the highway and to childcare center. Don’t have pictures of this one.

Stay tuned tomorrow for 10 more of the 50 Acts of Kindness. Be kind in your area of the world and be blessed!!

10 thoughts on “50 Acts of Kindness – 1-10

  1. When I was 18 I had to have spinal fusion surgery. The transfusion I had to have during surgery inspired me to donate. From the day of my surgery to the time I could donate, I counted down the months and days until I could donate. I have only donated once so far, but I already have made my appointment for the next time I am eligible to donate. I was so glad that I was able to pay back the blood I was given to help three other people.

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

