50 Acts of Kindness – 21-30


Here’s the next set of 50 Acts of Kindness ….

#21 – Babies & Kids – Donated 69 hand knitted baby hats to the Neo-natal ICU at Good Sam. Thanks to my dear friend Mar and her knitting crew, these sweet hats will be a soft and warm gift for many babies. This NICU unit is where my niece spent the first part of her life because she was born about 6 weeks too early. And here she is 11 years later as she dropped off the sweet little hats.

hand knitted baby hats Megan-Good Sam NICU

#22 – Those Who Serve – I wrote handwritten appreciation letters to wounded soldiers and dropped them off at the VA hospital. This is especially meaningful because many of the significant men in my life have served in the military. As a young girl, my Grandmother volunteered at the VA hospital every week. On my summers off she would take me along to volunteer as well. I am always touched by the service of our men and women.

letters for wounded soldiers

#23 – Sick & Needy – Donated puzzles to the Ronald McDonald house here in town. It’s my hope that the families will be able to spend a bit of time doing something simple, and fun together. A few moments of normalcy can be a gift as well.

Megan - Ronald McDonald House puzzles

#24 – Just Because – Gave a gift card for dinner to a young man that I saw volunteering. My family shared the joy of volunteering time since I was a very young girl. I felt like reinforcing the wonderful giving spirit this young man already had.

2013-08-16 11.26.47

#25 – Babies & Kids – We all took some stickers to hand out to little kids that we would meet throughout the day. This was a big hit. You know how kids think stickers are just the best!

stickers2 stickers3

#26 – Those Who Serve – Gave flowers to the retired nuns at the Mercy Convent. Nuns have played a significant role in my life. They cared for me when I was little in the orphanage, and they were teachers at both my grade school and high school. I love the devotion and spiritual life they lead. And it was an extra treat to see Sr. Amadeus, my former high school principal who happened to be in the dining room. That was a cherry on top for me.

Convent - flowers convent flowers 2

#27 – Sick & Needy – Donated canned goods to Matthew 25 Ministries to distribute in the community. Here’s a couple of the young men who were volunteering that day and able to receive the donations.

canned goods Matt 25 Ministries - load of canned goods

#28 – Just Because – Paid for 10 coffees at the Dunkin Donut by my house. This is of course the second home for my daughter who just lovesssssss coffee!

IMG-20130816-00006

#29 – Babies & Kids – Donated crayons and coloring books to Children’s Hospital and Shriners Hospital. My helping crew said at one of the places they were ripping out pages so each child could have just one. Now they had plenty more to let the kids color!

Childrens Hospital - crayons and coloring books Childrens Hosp - crayons and coloring books

#30 – Just Because – Gave a gift to a random woman who was helping her elderly mother in the parking lot of the dollar store. She was awe struck that a stranger would do such a thing. Well that just made me smile even more.

IMG-20130816-00005

 

3 thoughts on “50 Acts of Kindness – 21-30

  1. Favorite today —-the last one where you gave a gift to a random lady!!! I am so excited about all of the lives that you are touching with your birthday celebration! You rock!!!

Thanks for your comments - each one counts and leads to me making a donation in my Comments for a Cause practice.

